Tuesday, January 01, 2008

Known Open State House and Senate Seats

Tom Barnes of the Post-Gazette kinds provides a list of known legislative retirements from the state house and senate in "Legislative retirements slow to a trickle" (12/31)

Newspapers have space constraints that blogs do not so I have provided a fuller description of the districts involved, with special attention to those in the Philadelphia suburbs.

State Senate Districts
District 23 (Part or all of Bradford, Susquehanna, Sullivan, Union and Lycoming Counties). Roger Madigan (R) is retiring. State Rep. Steven Cappelli (R)intends to run for that seat.

District 13 (Part or all of Lancaster and York Counties). Gib Armstrong (R) is retiring.

District 17 (Haverford and Radnor Townships in Delaware County; Bridgeport Borough, Conshohocken Borough, East Norriton Township, Lower Merion Township, Narberth Borough, Norristown, Plymouth Township, Upper Merion Township, and West Conshohocken Borough in Montgomery County). Connie Williams (D) is retiring and State Rep. Daylin Leach intends to run for that seat.

State House Districts
District 57 (Part of Westmoreland County). Tom Tangretti (D) is retiring (Trivia: his former legislative aide is now representing the 8th congressional district)

District 72 (Parts of Cambria and Somerset Counties). Tom Yewcic (D) is retiring.

District 71 (Part of Cambria County). Edward Wojnaroski (D) is retiring.

District 149 (In Montgomery County: the townships of Lower Merion (PART), and Upper Merion, and the Boroughs of West Conshohocken, and Bridgeport. Communities within the district include King of Prussia, Swedesburg, Swedeland, Gulph Mills, Villanova, Rosemont, Bryn Mawr, Haverford, Ardmore, Wynnewood, and Penn Wynne). Daylin Leach (D) intends to run for state senate and not seek re-election to the state house.

District 83 (Part of Lycoming County). Steven Cappelli (R) intends to run for the state senate and not seek re-election to the state house.

District 88 (Part of Cumberland County). Jerry Nailor (R) is retiring.

District 157 (Part of Chester County consisting of the townships of Schuylkill and Tredyffrin and the BOROUGH of Phoenixville and Part of Montgomery County consisting of the townships of Lower Providence (PART, Districts 02 [PART, Divisions 01 and 02] and 03 [PART, Divisions 01 and 02]) and West Norriton (PART, District 03 [PART, Division 01]). Carole Rubley (R) is retiring.

District 31 (Part of Bucks County consisting of the townships of Lower Makefield, Newtown and Upper Makefield (PART, District 02) and the Boroughs of Newtown and Yardley.) David Steil (R) is retiring.

District 193 (Part of York County). Steve Nickol (R) is retiring.

District 13 (Part of Chester County consisting of the townships of East Fallowfield, East Nottingham, Elk, Franklin, Highland, London Grove, Londonderry, Lower Oxford, New London, Penn, Sadsbury, Upper Oxford, West Fallowfield, West Nottingham and West Sadsbury and the boroughs of Atglen, Modena, Oxford, Parkesburg, South Coatesville and West Grove.). Art Hershey is retiring.


district descriptions taken from legislative websites or the Committee of Seventy's political map sites.

No comments: