Thursday, September 12, 2013

Eight More Countries Sign Statement on Syria

On Tuesday, eight additional countries – Georgia, Guatemala, Kuwait, Malta, Montenegro, Panama, Poland and Portugal – signed on to the joint statement on Syria that was issued on September 6. That statement condemns in the strongest terms the Assad regime’s use of chemical weapons on August 21 in the suburbs of Damascus and calls for a strong international response. The statement explicitly supports the efforts undertaken by the United States and other countries to reinforce the prohibition on the use of chemical weapons. 

No comments: