Friday, March 01, 2013

PA Congressmen Who Voted Against VAWA

Both of Pennsylvania's senators voted to renew the Violence Against Women Act.  Today the House voted. Here is a list of Pennsylvania Congressmen who voted against it (final vote count):

Congressman  Mike Kelly (R-03)
Congressman Tom Marino (R-10)
Congressman Tim Murphy (R-18)
Congressman Scott Perry (R-04)
Congressman Joe Pitts (R-16)
Congressman Keith Rothfus (R-12)

While I have not looked to see what, if anything, any of these men said regarding their votes, the standard objections to this bill are that it extended protections to LGBT people, Native Americans, and illegal immigrants.

These six men will be up for re-election in 2014.  I hope the women in their district remember this vote.


No comments: